Hungry girl cooks : Tom yum

My second cooking post, is still a bowl of soup. But a spicy one. Tom yum Goong, hot and spicy herbal soup with shrimps, is one of the most well known Thai dish. A dish full of flavour – spicy, sour, salty, and only a bit sweet,.

This is one of the dishes I make often here in Europe, as it cures homesick very well 😉 Scent of lemongrass, galangal, shallot, kaffir lime leaf, and coriander, best combination! It is also good against cold, lots of herbs, and full of lime.

So, let me tell you how I make my Tom yum, this time I cooked Tom yum Goong Plamuk which is Tom yum with shrimps and squid .

I start with mixing some seasonings together in a bowl. Pounded chilis, red chilis and bird’s eye chilis, tamarind sauce (I boiled dried tamarind paste in water until reduced), cooking milk, chill paste, lime, and fish sauce.

t1.jpg

Make the soup by putting pounded lemongrass, galangal, garlic clove, kaffir lime leaves and shallot in to boiling water, boil for like half a minute to get the scent of the herbs. Add mushroom, then squid, and lastly shrimp, then just switch of the stove. With seafood I’m always very careful that I don’t overcook it, I’m a huge fan of juicy one!

t2.jpg

t4.jpg

Pour the cooks soup into the bowl that I mixed the seasoning inside, add some coriander and sawtooth coriander on the top to enhance the scent even more. And it’s done! Best to be served with steamed jasmine rice.

C

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hungry girl cooks : Tom yum”

Leave a Reply

